Security Guard License Tennessee

Security Guard License Tennessee requires its prospective security guards applying for license to:

1. Be at least 21 years of age for registration as an armed security guard, 18 years of age for unarmed security guard

2. Be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien.

3. Be legally mentally competent, be of good moral character.

4. Be free of habitual drunkenness or narcotics addiction or dependence.

5. Have no disability which would prevent performance of duties.

6. Be free of convictions including:

Probation for 5 years for serious crimes OR Crimes involving: Firearms, Shoplifting, Violence

7. Must meet the statutory training requirements.

8. Submit three fingerprint cards for processing by TBI and FBI for a criminal history check.

Fees

Security guard license Tennessee fee for armed security guard are as follows:

application form: $75

fingerprint card: $60

license: $30

The licensing fee for unarmed security guard are as follows:

application form: $50

fingerprint card: none unless requested

license: $20

Required Training

Training includes an examination covering subjects in which the individual must have training. All candidates must complete a four hour basic course including one (1) hour each of:

Orientation.

Legal powers and limitations of a security guard/officer.

Emergency procedures.

General duties.

Any additional training for weapons or other devices that are less than lethal he or she will use.

An armed guard must complete eight additional hours in the classroom covering:

Legal limitations on the use of a firearm:

Handling of a firearm

Safety and maintenance of firearms

In addition, an armed guard applicant must complete an additional four hours of marksmanship training and achieve a minimum of 70% on any silhouette target course approved by the commissioner.

Training Requirements for the use of a Club, Stun Gun, Chemical Spray, Night Stick or other less than lethal device

Registered guards or applicants who will carry a club, stun gun, chemical spray, night stick or other less than lethal device, the commissioner shall require appropriate training specific to such device by a certified trainer who is certified to instruct for such specific device. It shall be the employers' responsibility to keep training records of their employees for each device. The security officer/guard shall also have in such person's possession a certification card issued by an instructor/trainer who is certified to instruct/train in the legal use of such specific device and shall exhibit such card upon demand by the commissioner or the commissioner's duly authorized agent or any full time law enforcement officer.

More Information

For more information regarding security guard licenses in Tennessee, please visit:

Department of Commerce & Insurance

Private Protective Services Division

500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243-1158

or you may visit: http://state.tn.us

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

In 7 days you will have all the information you need to become a security guard

Please note that all fields followed by an asterisk must be filled in.
First Name*
E-Mail Address*

Please enter the word that you see below.

  

Return from Security Guard License Tennessee to Homepage

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.

Recommended Reading

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Quick Links

Becoming a Security Guard
Licenses
Training
Jobs
Security Gear

Download the free ebook now!

Free ebook
Enter your E-mail Address
Enter your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Security Guards News.